Pre-Exchange

The Countdown Begins

Everyone that I’ve spoken to recently, regardless of whether they’ve been on exchange or not, are telling me that the next year of my life will be one of the best times I will ever have. But nonetheless, as the months have become a mere weeks until I leave for the University of Nottingham Ningbo, I am becoming slightly more…terrified.

It really only hit me two days ago just how soon I was leaving. It really only feels like yesterday since I started the process of applying for exchange and whatnot but now it’s just under 3 weeks until I leave. Honestly, I am feeling more apprehensive and scared rather than excited as most people expect me to feel. I think perhaps it’s because UNNC was my 3rd option for exchange? I didn’t want to still be bitter over my nomination since it’s been so long but there is a tiny tiny part of me that still is for reasons I don’t want to get into here.

But moving along! I’m pretty sure one of the main reasons I’m terrified is because I’m going to a place where I know no one and it’s in a place I’ve never been to before and I have no idea what might happen. Although, I am Chinese and I can speak Chinese well enough to get by, I still feel really nervous about living in an unfamiliar place by myself. I also have this extreme fear I’m going to make no friends (lol).

Anyway, I’ve met a few people recently who have returned from exchanges and they all told me how amazing it was and how they wish they could go again. I can only hope I also will experience this sentiment when I return from my exchange.

For the time being, I want to share 2 photos (because I think a text heavy post is unappealing). I’m going to miss Sydney and Australia a lot when I’m in China – definitely going to miss how accessible every single cuisine is. I know China also offers a lot of different cuisines but..I feel like it’s just not the same. I remember going to this Italian restaurant back in my hometown and the food was, though not bad, but definitely made to appeal to the Chinese taste palette.

I’m also going to leave this post with a few of my favourite songs of the moment. A bit more korean hip-hop in this list (definitely stemming from my recent addiction to SMTM5).

One, Simon D & Gray – Comfortable
#Gun, Mad Clown & Gummy – Going Home (if it’s possible finding a subbed version of this live, I would recommend watching that. It got me all emotional – maybe because I’ve been following #Gun since the No Mercy days).
Loco – You Don’t Know
Jonas Blue ft. JP Cooper – Perfect Strangers
The Chainsmokers ft. Halsey – Closer 

And the countdown begins – 20 days to go.

Standard

Leave a Reply

